news

26 Feb 2013: Ernie to Open Third Consecutive Season

ERNIE THE PLAY BY AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR MITCH ALBOM RETURNS FOR A LIMITED FIVE WEEK ENGAGEMENT AT CITY THEATRE OPENING JUNE 6, 2013

Tickets for the 2013  Performances On Sale Friday, March 1 at 10 A.M.

Ernie will once again return to the City Theatre, located inside of Hockeytown Café and just one block from Comerica Park, to offer fans a third season to remember “The Voice of Summer” starting Thursday, June 6.  Presented by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan and Blue Care Network, the two-man play, dedicated to the late and beloved Hall of Fame Detroit Tiger announcer, Ernie Harwell, will also welcome back local stage favorites Will Young, as the iconic Harwell, and TJ Corbett in the role of “The Boy”.

Tickets ($20 and $25) go on sale Friday, March 1 at 10 a.m. Tickets may be purchased online at OlympiaEntertainment.com, the Fox Theatre and Joe Louis Arena box offices, Hockeytown Authentics in Troy (without service charge), at all Ticketmaster locations, Ticketmaster.com and at the City Theatre box office, located inside Hockeytown Cafe. To charge tickets by phone, call 1-800-745-3000. For discounted Group Sales tickets (8 or more people), call 313-471-3099. As with the past two seasons, proceeds from Ernie merchandise sales will go to the Ernie Harwell Foundation.

Ernie’s third season will again feature the doubleheader experience with convenient showtimes to provide fans the ability to watch the play and catch a Tigers game in the same day. To take advantage of the “doubleheader”, patrons can purchase their Ernie show tickets online at OlympiaEntertainment.com, Ticketmaster.com or the Fox Theatre Box Office. At that time, a redemption code will be given for use on Tigers.com or at the Comerica Park Box Office to receive a $5 savings on select seating and at select regular season home games. Game tickets will only be available for pick-up at the Comerica Park Box Office and patrons must present their Ernie show ticket stub.

 

Performance schedule:

Thursday, June 6        7:30 p.m.

Friday, June 7             8 p.m.

Saturday, June 8        2 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 9           5 p.m.

Thursday, June 13      8 p.m.

Friday, June 14           8 p.m.

Saturday, June 15      4 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 16         3 p.m.

Thursday, June 20      5:30 p.m.

Friday, June 21           8 p.m.

Saturday, June 22      4 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 23         5 p.m.

Thursday, June 27      5:30 p.m.

Friday, June 28           8 p.m.

Saturday, June 29      4 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 30         3 p.m.

Friday, July 5              3 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Saturday, July 6          4 p.m. & 8 p.m.

Sunday, July 7            3 p.m.